Journal’s Journey

Our guest blogger, Susie Lau, writes about taking part in the making of our Autumn/Winter ’11 Journal

When Smythson asked me to be apart of their first ever edition of The Journal, surprise definitely flickered across my face.  Me?  The blogger who supposedly taps away soullessly on a laptop, totally lacking in connection with the humble pen and paper, seemingly the opposite of what Smythson upholds and values?  The Journal presented itself as an opportunity to indulge in the moments that I probably don’t demonstrate enough on my blog – quiet moments scribbling way in a journal, putting pen to paper and recollecting thoughts and the mere act of treasuring the written word.

It was officially speaking, a photo shoot for The Journal, but lounging around with a notepad, flicking around an iPad all bound up in Smythson’s delicious coloured leathers for the new season and peering into brand new bags, could hardly be considered a hardship and I rather savoured the experience.

My favourite bits of The Journal weirdly were probably the piles of iPad cases, journals and camera cases all piled up in a decadent manner showing all the possible colourways that are coming up for A/W 11-12.  It makes you wonder what it would be like to have the ability to own items in EVERY SINGLE colour way which for me is but a dream.  For now though Smythson’s nile blue, violet, peridot and berry are my core favourite shades…


I absolutely love the little glimpses of Jonathan Saunders’ working world supported by his collaboration with Smythson, which was inspired by the colour palette of his A/W 11-12 collection.  The colour blocked notebooks and iPad cases are eye-catching but also discreet, and are the perfect distillation of both Smythson and Saunders’ aesthetic.

To request your own copy of The Journal, The Collaborator Issue, Autumn/Winter 2011, click here.

One Response to “Journal’s Journey”

  1. stormycounselor Says:

    Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and outstanding style and design.

Leave a Reply

